www.ost.lu

www.comat.lu

Dossier Sponsoring

contact

Eugène Stirn
7, rue des Gaulois L-3432 DUDELANGE Tél: (+352) 621 213 171
e-mail:
eugstirn@pt.lu

Alain Conter
47, Op der Hobuch, L-5832 Fentange Tel: (+352) 621 23 16 45
e-mail: acccontern@gmail.com


some history

The cycling association "Amis du Cyclisme de la Commune de Contern" (ACCC) (friends of cycling of the municipality of Contern) has been created officially on Wednesday, April 21, 1976. Its purpose is "to contribute to the wellness and the exercise of cycling-sport". The municipality approved this creation on May 18th, 1976: the cycling-club of Contern was born.

In 1976 already, the first riders (André Heuertz, Philippe Jaacques et Vicky Ludewig) are recruted and the first race took place on August 14, 1976: the Grand-Prix Peinture Roger Braun for young riders. The first year, a cyclo-cross with international riders has also been organized.

In 1977, ACC Contern took over from the UCA Wiltz the Grand-Prix François Faber, the oldest and one of the most prestigious luxembourgish races, and decided to hold it as a stage race over several days. The podiums in the first two years saw such great riders as René Martens, Etienne de Wilde, Claude Criquiélion or Fons de Wolf. For several years, the Grand-Prix François Faber has been the most important event in our calendar, and many good riders have participated such as Erik Zabel, Michael Boogerd or Romans Vainsteins among others. On April 20, 1989, as a prologue to the Grand-Prix François Faber, the Grand-Prix Charly Gaul was organised as a time trial for the professionnal riders having a Luxemburgish rider license (Accacio da Silva, winner of the race, Per Pedersen, Kim Andersen, Bjarne Riis ...). This race inspired us for two other very different events: the "randonnée Charly Gaul" (since 1990), a cyclo-sportive race for everyone on hilly courses and the Gala Tour de France (since 1996), a criterium for invited professional riders.

Another race that has been very important in the history of our club, is the Grand-Prix Ostfenster on the road, ridden for the first time in 1985 (named then Grand-Prix des Artisans de la Commune de Manternach). In 1989, the race was dominated by the "silver train" of the riders of former East-Germany (Thomas Barth the winner, Uwe Ampler, Olaf Ludwig the olympic champion and Uwe Raab). They took 4 of the 5 places on the podium. In 1996, Bjarne Riis dominated the Grand-Prix Ostfenster and won it only a few months before winning the Tour de France. After 3 years of absence, this race is back in our yearly calendar since 2004. Ostfenster, a firm owned by a former rider of the ACC Contern, Mr Romain Hilger, still is one of our main sponsors and has also given its name for some years to our traditionnal cyclo-cross in November.

Cyclo-cross always has been part of our events. Every year, one or two cyclo-cross races have been organised on different circuits: Contern, Walsdorf, Luxembourg, Kirchberg, Junglinster, Gonderange or Steinsel. A lot of world-champions have competed there in their rainbow-jersey: Danny de Bie, Pol Herijgers, Mario De Clerq, Richard Groenendaal, Erwin Verwecken and many more. In 1990, a spectacular cyclo-cross race was organised in form of a madison. Every team was composed by a road racer for the easier part of the circuit and a cyclo-cross specialist for the more technical part (winner under a lot of rain: the surprising team Danny De Bie and Kim Andersen).

Concerning the riders in our team, there has been less constancy than for the events. Between 0 and 25, the number of riders changed every year. But the quality of some of the riders showed out to be exceptionnal. The most famous rider that ever rode for our team certainly is Bjarne Riis, winner of the Tour de France in 1996. But there have been more good riders: Kim Andersen, Per Pedersen, Kim Eriksen, Jesper Skibby the Danish riders, Neil Martin the Englishman, Romain Hilger, Eugène Urbany, Conny Neiertz, André Heuertz, Pascal Kohlvelter or Fernand Sand the Luxemburgish riders. Impossible to name them all here...

Two riders which have made their first steps in cyling with ACC Contern (in the years 1994 - 1999), Kim Kirchen et Frank Schleck, have made their way to the professionnal peloton with good results. Frank Schleck is still licensed as a professional with the ACC Contern and he has since then been joined by his brother Andy and Jempy Drucker.

Adieu, Marcel

In 2014, the ACC Contern has lived one of the darker chapters in its history, when the long-term president and soul of the club, Marcel Gilles, died at the age of 68 due to sickness, leaving the boat without his captain.

staff - archives

president secretary tresourer
1976 - 1978 Roger Braun Constant Goergen Ferd Reuland
1979 - 1980 Roger Braun Constant Goergen René Thill
1981 Armand Hemmen Marcel Gilles René Thill
1982 - 1986 Eric Pauly Marcel Gilles René Thill
1987 - 1988 Eric Pauly Marcel Gilles Marco Eifes
1989 - 1992 Marcel Gilles Eurgène Stirn Marco Eifes
1993 - 2014 Marcel Gilles Eurgène Stirn Marc Gengler
depuis 2014 Alain Conter Eurgène Stirn Marc Gengler




STAFF

president of honour

Marcel Gilles

president

Alain Conter

vice-presidents

Claude Conter
Fabienne Gaul

secretary

Eugène Stirn

tresourer

Marc Gengler

members

Edith Drucker
Marcel Gerson
Josy Gindt
Gilbert Godart
Carlo Hastert
Carlo Keiser
Roger Langers
Maria Medina
Henri Nicolas
Gilbert Winandy

Without the helping hands from people that are not member of our club, we would not be able to organize our events. A lot of thank to all of them !!!

Note: "This site contains links to other pages, on which content and presentation we don't have any influence. These refences are indicated merely for your information and and we can't be made reliable for any of the content of any of the places our links may take you to."
Contact: ACC Contern - c/o M. Alain Conter - 47, Op der Hobuch - L-5832 Fentange - acccontern@gmail.com

www.ost.lu

www.comat.lu

Dossier Sponsoring

contact

Eugène Stirn
7, rue des Gaulois L-3432 DUDELANGE Tél: (+352) 621 213 171
e-mail:
eugstirn@pt.lu

Alain Conter
47, Op der Hobuch, L-5832 Fentange Tel: (+352) 621 23 16 45
e-mail: acccontern@gmail.com


historique

Le vélo-club les "Amis du Cyclisme de la Commune de Contern" (ACCC) a été créé officiellement le mercredi, 21 avril 1976. Selon les statuts, l'association a pour but "de contribuer à la prospérité et à la pratique du sport cycliste". Les statuts ont été ratifiés par le Conseil Communal de Contern, en date du 18 mai 1976: le vélo-club de Contern était né.

Dès 1976, les premiers coureurs (André Heuertz, Philippe Jaacques et Vicky Ludewig) sont recrutés parmi la jeunesse conternoise et la première course est organisé le 14 août 1976: le Grand-Prix Peinture Roger Braun dans la catégorie scolaires. Dès la première année aussi, un cyclo-cross à participation internationale est organisé.

En 1977, l'ACC Contern reprend de la part de l'UCA Wiltz l'organisation du Grand-Prix François Faber, la plus ancienne et une des plus prestigieuses courses luxembourgeoises, et en fait une course à étapes sur plusieurs jours. Les deux premières années, des coureurs comme René Martens, Etienne de Wilde, Claude Criquiélion ou Fons de Wolf montent sur le podium. Cette épreuve restera pendant longtemps l'épreuve phare de l'ACCC, et beaucoup de coureurs à renom y ont participé, comme par exemple Erik Zabel ou Michael Boogerd. Le 20 avril 1989, en guise de prologue du Grand-Prix François Faber, le premier Grand-Prix Charly Gaul fût organisé sur le parcours du défunt "Grand-Prix de la Forteresse". Cette course de côte par élimination, destinée aux coureurs professionnels courant sur licence luxembourgeoise (Accacio da Silva, le vainqueur de l'épreuve, Per Pedersen, Kim Andersen, ...) inspira par la suite deux organisations à caractère radicalement opposé: la randonnée Charly Gaul (dès 1990), une cylco-sportive sur parcours accidenté ouverte à tout les amoureux de la petite reine et le Gala Tour de France (dès 1996), une course par invitation réservée à l'élite professionnelle.

Une autre épreuve de cyclisme sur route a fortement contribué à la notoriété du vélo-club de Contern. Il s'agit du Grand-Prix Ostfenster, courue la première fois en 1985 sous le nom de Grand-Prix des Artisans de la Commune de Manternach. En 1989, la course est dominé par le "train gris" de l'équipe de l'ex-Allemange de l'Est (Thomas Barth le vainqueur, Uwe Ampler, Olaf Ludwig le champion olympique et Uwe Raab) qui occupera 4 des 5 premières places du podium. En 1996, Bjarne Riis survole le Grand-Prix Ostfenster et le gagne quelques mois seulement avant son succès au Tour de France. Après une pause de quelques années, le Grand-Prix Ostfenster a lieu à nouveau depuis 2004. La société OST Manufacture, dirigée par un ancien coureur de Contern, Romain Hilger, a toujours été fidèle à notre association et elle a entre-autres aussi parrainé pendant quelques années notre traditionnel cyclo-cross du mois d'octobre.

Le cyclo-cross a toujours occupé une place de choix dans les organisations conternoises. Chaque année, un voir même deux cyclo-cross ont été organisés. Pour des raisons sportives et extra-sportives, différents parcours ont été élaborés: Contern, Walsdorf, Luxembourg-Ville (marché aux poissons), Kirchberg, Junglinster, Gonderange ou encore Steinsel. Bon nombre de champions du monde ont fait briller leur beau maillot arc-en-ciel au-dessus de notre épreuve: Danny de Bie, Pol Herijgers, Mario De Clerq, Richard Groenendaal, Erwin Verwecken pour ne citer que ceux-là. En 1990, soucieux d'innover et de souligner le caractère spectaculaire de la discipline, le cyclo-cross sur le traditionnel parcours de Contern fût couru sous forme d'une américaine, alliant à chaque fois un routier avec un spécialiste du cyclo-cross (vainqueur sous le déluge: le tandem inattendu Danny De Bie et Kim Andersen).

Au niveau des coureurs ayant fait partie de notre club, la constance est moins de mise que pour les organisations. Entre 0 et 25 coureurs, le nombre changeait chaque année. Mais, en ce qui concerne la qualité, nous pouvons être fier de bon nombre d'entre-eux. Le plus prestigieux est sans aucun doute Bjarne Riis, vainqueur du Tour de France en 1996. Mais d'autres noms viennent à l'esprit: Kim Andersen, Per Pedersen, Kim Eriksen, Jesper Skibby les danois, Neil Martin l'anglophone, beau-frère d'un certain Stephen Roche, Romain Hilger, Eugène Urbany, Conny Neiertz, André Heuertz, Pascal Kohlvelter ou Fernand Sand les luxembourgeois. On ne peut pas tous les nommer ici.

Deux coureurs qui ont fait leurs premières armes à l'ACC Contern dans les années 1994 - 1999, Kim Kirchen et Frank Schleck, ont réussi à percer avec beaucoup de succès dans les rangs professionnels. Depuis, Frank Schleck court toujours sous licence Conternoise et il a été rejoint chez nous également par son frère Andy et Jempy Drucker.

Adieu, Marcel

En 2014, l'ACC Contern a dû se résoudre à vivre un des épisodes les moins réjouissants de son histoire puisque son âme vivante et président de longue date, Marcel Gilles, est décédé à l'âge de 68 ans suite à une maladie implacable, laissant son bâteau orphelin du capitaine.

comité - archives

Président Secrétaire Trésorier
1976 - 1978 Roger Braun Constant Goergen Ferd Reuland
1979 - 1980 Roger Braun Constant Goergen René Thill
1981 Armand Hemmen Marcel Gilles René Thill
1982 - 1986 Eric Pauly Marcel Gilles René Thill
1987 - 1988 Eric Pauly Marcel Gilles Marco Eifes
1989 - 1992 Marcel Gilles Eurgène Stirn Marco Eifes
1993 - 2014 Marcel Gilles Eurgène Stirn Marc Gengler
depuis 2014 Alain Conter Eurgène Stirn Marc Gengler




Comité

president d'honneur

Marcel Gilles

président

Alain Conter

vice-présidents

Claude Conter
Fabienne Gaul

secrétaire

Eugène Stirn

trésorier

Marc Gengler

comité

Edith Drucker
Marcel Gerson
Josy Gindt
Gilbert Godart
Carlo Hastert
Carlo Keiser
Roger Langers
Maria Medina
Henri Nicolas
Gilbert Winandy

Sans les nombreux coups de mains de personnes qui ne sont pas des membres du comité ou de l'ACC Contern, nous ne serions pas en mesure d'organiser nos manifestations. Qu'elles soient toutes remerciées vivement!!!!

Note: "Ce site contient des liens vers d'autre pages internet. Nous n'avons pas d'emprise sur le contenu et la présentation sur ces sites et nous nous distançons donc explicitement du contenu des endroits auxquels tous les liens présents sur notre site peuvent donner accès."
Contact: ACC Contern - c/o M. Alain Conter - 47, Op der Hobuch - L-5832 Fentange - acccontern@gmail.com